May Contain Gluten
It is important to read labels and understand the terminology usedGluten is a combination of two proteins – glutenin and gliadin – found in wheat, rye and barley.
If you have coeliac disease, a gluten intolerance or prefer a gluten-free lifestyle by choice, it is important to be clear whether gluten is, or is not, present in foods.
We wish to promote product labelling which helps provide our consumers that suffer from allergies with enough information so that they can choose the products that best suits them.
Where possible we will make a gluten free statement. We will claim this on the back label on the nutrition panel under protein and if it is gluten free it will state 0mg.
However, ‘MAY CONTAIN GLUTEN’ may be confusing for some. In the instance of Plum & Hemp Seed Preserve, because the hemp seeds are grown in a paddock that has previously grown wheat, there is no way to ensure that the product is 100% gluten free. This is due to the possibility of cross-contamination from wheat kernels.
We ask consumers to make their own decision as to whether they are happy to consume the product, depending on their own level of gluten sensitivity.
Product information is available online for the full Anathoth Farm range. Information can be found under the NUTRITION tab.
Those MAY CONTAIN GLUTEN Anathoth Farm products are:
- Berry Fruit Mince
- Cabbage, Chilli & Hemp Seed Pickle
- Caramelised Onion Relish
- Cauliflower & Hemp Seed Pickle
- Plum & Hemp Seed Preserve
- Traditional Fruit Mince